WVPA Chairs of Committees for 2015

The Chairs of the WVPA Standing Committees and Task Forces meet in the Spring and Fall to report to the Board of Directors and members of the West Virginia Psychological Association.

Business of Practice Network
Steven Cody, Ph.D.


  • Chair is a part of a network overseen by the Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice (CAPP) and supported by the staff of Practice Directorate of the American Psychological Association.
  • Networks with other psychologists to strategically position psychology in a leadership role within the behavioral health market place.
  • Develops strong collaborative relationships with corporate third party purchasers.
  • Assists members better understand market place changes and be proactive in meeting challenges that arise.
  • Provides one article a year relative to BOPN for publication in the WVPA Newsletter

C. David Blair, Ph.D.
Colleague Assistance Committee

Center for Health Psychology
179 Summers Street, Suite 710
Charleston, WV 25301

  • Confidentially assists and aids WVPA members in issues germane to practice (e.g., ethics, practice standards, procedures)
  • Confidential assistance for other sensitive personal/professional issues in which peer consultation is desired or required.

Colleges and Universities Committee
Jennifer Tiano, Ph.D.

  • Encourages student and faculty involvement in WVPA
  • Establishes peer networks throughout the state
  • Disseminates WVPA News/Issues to academic and student communities
  • Works to encourage collegial support and communication among faculty and students
  • Task force on Internship Development

Communications Committee
Jack Berkley, Psy.D.

Continuing Education Committee
Marion Kostka, Ed.D.

  • Insures that programs presented/co-sponsored by WVPA meet criteria set by the American Psychological Association (APA) for continuing education for psychologists

Council of Past Presidents
Scott Fields, Ph.D.

  • Provides a historical perspective and leadership consultation to the President and the Executive Committee

Roy Tunick, Ph.D.
Disaster Response Network

PO Box 4176
Morgantown, WV 26504

Co-chair Jeff Hammond, Ph.D.
Maidsville, WV 26541

  • Provides training opportunities to assist psychologists in developing and enhancing skills in crisis intervention and crisis management, relative to disasters.
  • Develops an ongoing network of providers who could help in times of emergencies, both state and national.
  • Collaborates with/provide services to direct responders and post-disaster victims.

Committee on Early Career Psychologists
Emily Selby-Nelson, Psy.D.

  • Helps new professionals gain access to networking opportunities with WVPA
  • Provides general information about the field of psychology in our state
  • Maintains resources summarizing job listings, career opportunities and career development
  • Offers a source of support for psychologists as they transition from students to supervised psychologists to licensed psychologists
  • Advances the relationship between the WVPA and ECPs in West Virginia.

Federal Government Affairs Committee
Jessica Luzier, Ph.D.

  • Works with American Psychological Association Practice Directorate to monitor and advocate for federal legislative initiatives that impact health, mental health, and psychologists
  • Develops relationships with West Virginia Congressional Delegates to consult, educate, and advocate for pertinent legislation

Finance Committee
Penny Koontz, Psy.D.

  • Develops WVPA’s annual budget
  • Monitors budget position and recommends adjustments, as needed
  • Develops a strategic plan for increasing revenue
  • Presents budget to WVPA members

Michael Murry, Ph.D.
Membership Committee

U.S. Public Health Service
PO Box 1009
Beaver, WV 25813
304.252.9758 x4680

Task Force on Diversity
Chair: Christina Wilson, PhD
Committee member: Patrick Kerr, PhD

  • Sustains/increases Association membership
  • Recommends potential members who qualify for membership

Nominating Committee
Scott Fields, Ph.D.

  • Provides a list of appropriate candidates for future leadership of WVPA

Professional Practice Committee
Neal Morris, Ed.D.

  • Provides members with a forum for the exchange of concerns and ideas regarding any aspect of the professional practice of psychology at the state/national level

Program Committee
Keith Beard, PsyD

  • Develops schedule and location for all conferences
  • Coordinates selection of speakers for workshops and banquets
  • Markets workshops

State Government Affairs Committee
Martin Boone, Ph.D.

Scott Fields, Ph.D.

  • Aids development and dissemination of information regarding the nature and impact of psychological services on psychologists and psychological service recipients
  • Assesses and communicates the impact of governmental laws, regulations and policies on psychologists and psychological service recipients

Rural Health Network Coordinator
Emily Selby-Nelson, Psy.D.